Brilliant Database Software - Home
Database software - Online Help System

Online Help System

Back to Brilliant Database Web-Site | Write to Support | Help Index



Users, Groups and Access Levels

table border="0" width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="4" bgcolor="#00000077">
Users, Groups, Access

Basic Information

The present software allows a number of users to work with the same database.

It is possible to assign different access rights for every user (for example, you can allow only reading for some users, and also allow changing records for others). Practically for all elements of the database, you can specify a list of users who will have access to such elements. For example, you can hide some buttons or folders or block a possibility to edit some fields of a record for a specific group of users.

Configuring Users, Groups and Login Method

By default one Administrator user and several Guests users are created for a new database. The authorization window is not displayed as no password is set for the Administrator user by default.

You can specify users settings, passwords and the method of logging into the database in the Users and Access window. To display this window, select File > Users and Access... menu item:

Database Users and Groups

On this tab you can edit users and users groups. Users are united into groups for convenience at access rights setting. For example, we can create the Operators group that will contain 3 users, and allow access to specific folders of the database for this group. If we need to add a new user with the same rights, we will simply create a new user in the Operators group.

For this reason access rights are set not for separate users, but for a group of users.

To create a new user or a group of users, click the New button.

Group Properties

  • Name - name of the group. At user’s logging into the database this name is passed to the system variable [$_user group name].
  • Access Level - the given field is the main field of a group. It determines the access level for users of this group by default. (See the Access Levels chapter above). The following values are possible:
    • No Access - access to the database is prohibited for users of this group;
    • Read Only - users of this group can only view folders and records, if other is not specified for such folders and records;
    • Read and Write - users of this group can only view and edit folders and records, if other is not specified for such folders and records.
    • Administrator - users of this group have full access to the whole database regardless of access rights settings for separate folders, records or fields.
  • Own new records - selecting this check box allows the users of this group to become owners of records that they create. Otherwise the Administrator will become the owner of the record. The difference between the owner of a record and any other user is that the owner can change access rights for his or her records. Only the Administrator can change the owner of a record or a folder. 
  • Description - in this field you can enter any comments for a group.
  • Block edit of the folder structure - if this check box is selected, the user cannot change the existing structure of folders in the database, that is, create, delete, move folders or change folder properties.

User Properties

  • Active - select the check box for the user to have access to the database;
  • Group - use this list to change the group to which the user belongs;
  • Login - user name that should be entered at logging into the database.
  • Password - password for the selected user. If the password is not entered for the Administrator, the authorization dialog, in which the user is selected, will not be displayed and you will automatically log in as the Administrator at the database loading.
  • Comments - in this field you can enter any comments for the user.

Login Method

On this tab you can specify the method of logging into the database:

  • Always show login screen - if this check box is selected, the authorization dialog will be always displayed (even if there is no password set for the Administrator of the database);
  • Hide list of users - if this check box is selected, the authorization window displayed at logon will not have a list of available users and you will have to manually enter the user name under which you want to log into the database.
  • Login screen greeting - this field allows specifying a greeting that will be displayed in the authorization window when the users try to log into the database.
  • Allow basic users to change their passwords - if you caheck this flags all users of the database will be able to change their own passwords from the file menu:
  • Preview... - press this button to preview how the authorization dialog window will look like:

Group Features

On this tab you can disable any software feature for a group of clients. The features is grouped by main menus in which they are located. Unchecking a flag will remove this feature from the main menu for the selected group. However, it still can be executed by a script. For example you can bolck a possibility to print any database records by the "File->Print..." menu command, and create a button on a form with the "Print Records" action.



All topics in the "Network and Users" section: